Awards & Honors


Outstanding Paper in Urban Transportation Planning and Modeling Award, 2016
From the Transportation Science and Logistics Society of INFORMS for the paper: C. Osorio and M. Bierlaire, "A Simulation-based Optimization Framework for Urban Transportation Problems" (Operations Research, 61(6):1333-1345, 2013)

IBM Faculty Award, 2016

NAE Invited Speaker, 2016
Invited to speak at the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) EU-US Frontiers of Engineering (EU-US FOE) Symposium. The Symposium invites 60 engineers from a variety of US and European companies, universities, and government labs to discuss leading-edge research and technical in various areas including Future Urban Mobility

National Science Foundation Award, 2016-2019

GOOD 100, 2016
GOOD Magazine’s list of 100 innovators from around the globe who are "tackling pressing global issues" and "improving our world in creative ways". Carolina was selected in the catergory of "Minds That Are Hacking Our Surroundings for the Better" 2016

MIT Technology Review EmTech Colombia TR35 Award, 2015
This award is given to innovators younger than 35 years old for work that promises to revolutionize the world of technology and business in the future

MIT CEE Maseeh Excellence in Teaching Award, 2014
This departmental teaching award recognizes the most outstanding faculty instructor in the past academic year

National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award (NSF CAREER), 2014
Award granted for the project: Simulation-based Optimization Techniques For Urban Transportation Problems. The CAREER Program "offers the NSF's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations"

NEC Corporation Fund Award for Research in Computers and Communications, MIT, 2014-2015

100 Colombians Award, Fusionarte Association, 2013
Award ceremony hosted by the Colombian President, Juan Manuel Santos, at the presidential headquarters

National Science Foundation Award, 2013-2016

European Association of Operational Research Societies (EURO) Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2012
This biannual award recognizes the best Ph.D. thesis from the EURO’s 30 member countries

Jeptha H. and Emily V. Wade Fund Award, MIT, 2011-2012

Graduate Student Best Paper Award, Transportation Research Forum (TRF), 2011
Awarded for the paper: A simulation-based optimization framework for urban traffic control

Fellowship given by the French region of Rhônes-Alpes, 2004-2005
Bourse Régionale de Formation à l'Etranger, Région Rhônes-Alpes

Highest Distinction Fellowship for engineering school studies given by the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2002-2005
Bourse Major du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères

Excellence Fellowship for undergraduate studies given by the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2000-2002
Bourse d'Excellence de l'Agence de l'Enseignement du Français à l'Etranger (AEFE)